Jaguar Shark
He’s got hydrogen psychosis, the crazy-eye!

Fall Fitness Update

My last post was about my Birthday Challenge. That was a couple of good days of exercise and a lot of fun. Since then I’ve had a number of good days on the bike and done a couple of runs. But almost all of my exercise has been a couple of Beachbody programs. I’m using these programs to get more fit and to lose those 45 pounds I want to lose by September 6th, 2012.

Here’s what I looked like then:

Feeling Dead

I started doing Asylum in mid-September. I tried to be as consistent as possible. Part of my plan was to do the workouts at school after work to ensure that I got them in. I find that if I wait until I get home I have a hard time getting the workouts in. There are just too many other distractions and limited space for everyone to share at the same time. The best time is before work, but i have to get up between 5 and 5;30am in order to work out before work and that’s often too hard for me to do.

Levi helping me doing my Asylum

I did about 20 Asylum workouts over 6 weeks. I was also riding my bike 2 or 3 times a week during this period. I really enjoyed the Asylum workouts and I could feel myself getting fitter. I was faster on the bike, I could do more pull-ups and my mile times came down. All of those improvements were with almost no real training apart from doing Asylum.

Unfortunately I injured my knee a little bit doing something silly at work. I was feeling pretty springy from Asylum and started jumping around one day and tweaked my knee. After that I didn’t feel like I could do Asylum as effectively and switched to the classic Power 90 for a while. A big advnatage of Power 90 is that it’s shorter which makes it easier to do before work because I don’t need to get up quite as early. I could feel my strength continuing to grow while doing Power 90 and my clothes were starting to fit a bit looser.

Amber and I were expecting our 2nd child at the end of November and that combined with some other issues made November a month with a little less exercise. That’s alright because those things happen, but it didn’t help my fitness goals. On November 27th Haven Angelina Bartlett was born. We are very excited to have a daughter and have been enjying this next step in the adventure of life.

 

It took about a week before we were home and relatively back on our routine. On the 2nd of December I started a round of P90X. So far I’m on Day 9 and have done all the workouts. I’m sure I’ll miss some at some point, but I’m trying to be very committed so I can get the best results possible. In the past I’ve strruggled more with P90X than I am this time. It’s not easy, but I’m doing noticeably better than in the past. I atribute this to the 3 months of Asylum and Power 90 that I did before starting P90X.

How I look right now:

Today I did some measurements to see how things have changed in the last 3 months. I’m a little disappointed that the results aren’t more significant but I’m happy with my progress so far. I’ve lost 12 pounds, going from 235 to 223. I’ve dropped an inch from my waist and 2 inches from my hips. My thighs have lost about an inch, as has my chest. My biceps have gained a half inch on the left and an inch on the right. So nothing huge, but it’s improvement and as long as it continues I’ll be fine. I’m about a quarter of the way through the year and I’ve lost about a quarter of the weight so I’m on track. I go back to work tomorrow so hoepfully I’ll be able to continue to workout and make progress.

One Response to “Fall Fitness Update”

  1. Good for you Reed! Team Andace is proud of you. Andy says he needs to get on some routine too…Candace agrees :O) haha Andy called me an “asshat” for that comment. Seriously though, your motivation is inspiring and your dedication to the exercise with all of the life changes is fantastic. Good job and keep it up!


Leave a Reply

